December is usually a busy time for everyone, however since the end of November my life has been a blur.

On Monday 26th of November I started a new permanent full-time job.  The first permanent job I have had in nearly 5 years.  Scary or what.  Then the fear is intensified as it has been for a company I have wanted to work for since I was 18 years of age and the fact that I am now makes me ecstatic and scared and OMG OMG OMG hyper at the same time.  I am working for Thomson Reuters.

For me this is a dream come true I can hardly believe it.  I have lost a whole month, or at least that is what it feels like, with early mornings back upon me, and late home arrivals I spend 12 hours of my day away from the home, either travelling or work or a combination of the two. So now spending time with family is even more important to me.  However, this new-found freedom has given me, us, an energy a realism of ease and confidence that we have not had in a very long time.  The arrival of the first pay cheque caused panic, as I thought I had been over paid but then I realised I had not and suddenly our lives become much easier.

I think back over the last few years over the joys and the heartache and wonder if it is or was worth it.  Yet hand on my heart I know it was as I would not be the person I am today if it had not been for what had gone before.  We can now plan our future for real and take it away from the dreams and move them into reality.  At the weekend we sat and looked at mortgage options and the best routes for us to take and talked about having conversations with my bank about available routes to take on savings as they appeared to have a good route in relation save to mortgage which is linked to a flexible fixed offset account.  In essence this means the rate is fixed, but is flexible in that we can over pay during the term of the fixed term without any penalties and offset because anything in savings is offset against the amount owing on the mortgage meaning we can pay less interest than we would normally if it is not linked to a savings account.  How cool is that?  or is this just me returning to excitable Geek mode?

We have also talked and looked at booking our honeymoon with locations narrowed down to four possibilities, Cuba, Cancun, Bora Bora and Maldives.  My lust is for one of the last three as I can at least go diving there but am just as happy to see Cuba before it becomes all materialistic and joins the current state of the rest of the world.

Aside from this it has been Christmas and although I have got a couple of days off, ie not back in until New Years eve then back to work as normal on the 2nd as my boss very kindly has allowed me to work from home we are travelling all over on short trips and bursts.  As tomorrow we are off to Lancashire to visit my husbands parents and deliver gifts, then en route back two days later we are visiting friends in Blackburn.  At some point in January we have to catch up and deliver presents to his youngest brother and his best friend.  We then have his birthday in February, which I have plans and ideas for, then our wedding anniversary in March and his parents big birthdays in April.  So until April it is all go and then a quarter of the year as gone again.

For me it all feels a little fast forward and watching my life in time-lapse sequences on a large screen, so I am trying to enjoy every moment and just live love to the maximum before it is all too late

One more thing I go, thank you for reading and continue to do so, since my lack of posting in the last month.  I hope you all had an amazing Christmas and I wish you all a fun-filled and life learning new year.

