Well this week has been an interesting one to say the least. Not only is it the end of another year approaching, for me, it is the end of an era. It has been a time, that I never thought would come, but then I never thought I would ever get to work for the company of my dreams, doing a job that I love.

Thursday saw me spending the last day in my office, as I prepared to finish my current role before moving onto pastures new in January. Decisions made purely on the basis of career wants and needs. My new step will take me into bigger and tougher challenges. I will be drawn into more complex and demanding situations but I will be pushed to become better than I ever thought possible.

At times over the last month, I have questioned if I am ready for the role? If I can do the role? and if this is right? Part of that comes from my earlier statement but also leaving a monumental company with a world renowned reputation and brand. I think the real challenge for me, was did I want to leave my ideal company? or did I want to push my career another few steps further forward?

Naturally my innate ambition won out – why because I am naturally competitive, I want to be the best. I love to be challenged and this new role will certainly be that. Moving back from a global company to a more local and European perspective will be only one of the many challenges I am facing. Nonetheless, like everything else in my life I will stare down the barrel, look over the edge and blindly step into the unknown, and hope my skills, wit, sense of humour, integrity, professionalism and tenacity to succeed will hold me in good stead.

So for me it is out with the past, in with the new. And all I can think to say is “hello future”, what do you have in store for me today?

